United Solo uAward Nominations Announced

United Solo–the remarkable celebration of solo performance that happens every fall at Theater Row Studio Theater in Times Square–has just announced the nominees for this year’s uAward.

This special award honors an individual for her/his outstanding contribution to the field of solo performance over the past year. Previous winners have included Fiona Shaw, Billy Crystal, and John Leguizamo. This year’s roster of nominees is quite impressive.

We are particularly excited that one of ITN’s playwrights, Dael Orlandersmith, is on the list of those nominated!

The festival begins next Thursday and runs through November 20. Details are here. (I love the United Solo website because it has a little slideshow on every page that cycles through dozens of pictures of past participants like Nancy Redman, Bob Brader, Suzanne Bachner, Bill Bowers and many others; plus lots of top-notch theater names like John Guare, Cherry Jones, and Olympia Dukakis. If you wait long enough you’ll find a picture of yours truly with festival founder/artistic director Omar Sangare. Omar is the good-looking one in that photo.)

Indie Theater Now has collected dozens of the best scripts from United Solo in our library, and the 2016 festival will yield many new additions. Check out last year’s collection to get a sense of the work these folks do.